District Headlines & News

  • School Counselor Week

    Show your appreciation to your school counselor!

    Comments (-1)
  • The Last Word rescheduled for January 29 and 30.

    The Alexander Central High School Drama Club invites the public to “The Last Word” on Friday, January 29 and Saturday, January 30 at 7:00 p.m. in the ACHS Auditorium. Admission is only $5 per person. The play is written by Christina Castling and directed by Amos McCandless. About “The Last Word” In the land of Dowser, words have mysteriously started to disappear. As police, parents, and grannies all struggle to make themselves understood, Jake and Sadia embark on an adventure to end the silence, and along the way, make a shocking discovery. Winner of Trinity College London’s International Playwriting Competition in 2012, “The Last Word” explores the importance and power of language and urges us to consider what we might be able to achieve with our words. Holding letters picture: Students from left to right: Gabby Church, Bre Resecker, Alicia Hartley, Alex Curry, Allie Little. Cast picture: Front Row: Rebecca Richards, Aubrey Goldsmith , Aaron Fox, Alex Curry Back Row: Allie Little, Gabby Church, Sydney Garnto, Bre Resecker, Ron Coley, Dean Liechty, Jasmine Wiley, Alicia Hartley

    Comments (-1)
  • more

Emergency Alert

  • Winter Weather Alerts (Haga clic aquí para obtener español)

    As winter weather approaches, we want to remind you to keep updated on school closings and delays.  We have multiple ways for you to stay informed. 

    • District and school websites – We post school closings and delays on the district website in the Emergency Alert section on the top right side of the homepage (www.alexander.k12.nc.us). This information will also be posted on each school’s page. 
    •  Parent notification calls – We will send out mass parent notification calls districtwide. Please make sure your telephone number(s) are updated in the school’s database.  Call your school office to verify this information.
    • Social Media – We will post closing and delays on the district Facebook page (Alexander County Schools) and through our Twitter feed (@AC_Schools).
    • Local television and radio stations – We contact WACB 860AM radio station, WBTV Channel 3 television, WSOC Channel 9 television, and WCNC Channel 36 television.

    We encourage you to check these resources in the event of inclement weather conditions. 

    Comments (-1)

Upcoming Events